Bonne nouvelle année from Mum in France…

Happy New Year to everyone.  I am very excited that Falda Eats is back and I hope I can make some useful contributions to the blog.  As Falda explained I am happy setting up home and life in France in the  Nouvelle-Aquitaine, region, on the doorstep of the  Pyrenees.  It is a truly extraordinary location and I am extremely lucky to live here AND make my visits to beautiful Scotland so see my wonderful family and friends.

D682684D-4BCB-4629-A5B5-AB7249433E9B

My attempts to learn French have led me to the local university where I have made friends with an incredible eclectic group of people from all around the world and currently I attend a local social centre with an equally amazing group of people including many refugees and migrants often fleeing from persecution or violence and all seeking a better life.  I hope to share some of their stories in later posts as well as my stop start progress with the French language – it can be something of a devil!

I also signed up for an “International Certificate” in Human Ecology.  It is extremely challenging because it is taught and assessed in French and just before Christmas I sat my first exam in decades – in French!  Okay I was allowed to use my computer, but in was still in French which is just as well as I find that my ability with spelling and dyslexic tendencies are equally apparent in other languages.  In later posts I would like to share my thoughts on the subject of “Ecologie Humaine” as I progress with the course.

My foot injury continues, which is extremely frustrating as I realise that I used running to maintain my weight.  I have had to investigate other ways to manage my diet in a sustainable and healthy way.   I have been investigating vegan KETO eating as it seems a fairly sensible and non calorie counting approach to sustainable health and I plan to combine it with intermittent fasting – I am seeking a way to quickly get rid of and keep off the (40) pounds I have put on in the last 18 months.  And who knows, maybe in a few months I will be able to run again.  I will post my progress and if anyone is interested to join me for support let me know as I will need all the enthusiasm I can find.

à bientôt Susan

x

Leave a comment